This Is Us

A quick update, as I’ve got important lounging to do and dinner to eat before the final feeding frenzy of the night…

Things are going wonderfully with our little one. I didn’t believe people when they told me it would get easier. But word to new parents: not only does it get easier, it gets quite dramatically easier, before you know it. I’m now at the point where it’s definitely less hard than my job (old job? normal, job?), which, well. My job is mind-drillingly hard at times, but still. Being Leila’s mum is, relatively speaking, a doddle. Perhaps because she is such an absolute angel, and I say that 100% objectively (arf). The child is sleeping through as of last week- a fact I’m trying hard not to boast about, on account of pride, falls etc- spends about half of her waking time smiling, and is simply amazing to watch as she masters a vast array of mad skillz at a quite astonishing (to us) pace. Beats working, that’s all I can say. This girl could not make me any happier, she really couldn’t.

As for her strawberry, as we call her birthmark: the bridge is, I would say, almost built, after which I will start to get over it. I’m past the point where I feel like an alien being is taking over my baby’s face, but still at the point where people’s comments (almost daily) make me feel like crying. Perhaps I’ll have a t-shirt made reading: No I Did Not Drop Her On Her Head. And on the back: Her Birthmark Will Fade, Looks Like You’re Stuck With That Face Though.

4 Responses to “This Is Us”


  1. 1 HollyLynne April 13, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Delurking to say I had a strawberry too (my parents called it the same!), also on my forehead, and YES it did go away!
    Leila is just gorgeous 🙂

  2. 2 Min April 14, 2010 at 8:47 am

    A lovely post, and she is beautiful. Just in time for me as a month on with my little angel-terrorist (little boy baby), not a lot of sleep and hard breastfeeding later, I needed to hear it gets better. More pictures please!

  3. 3 bokker April 15, 2010 at 7:22 am

    HollyLynne- thanks, that’s good to know. I’m starting to get a little less drama-queen about it!

    Min- at four weeks I still felt totally overwhelmed and exhausted. ‘Going mental’, I think were my exact words to someone who asked how I was doing! Six weeks and then eight weeks were big turning points for me.

    I write everything down in a notebook (feed times, what sleep we got etc) so that I can look back and see how much has changed in such a short space of time.

    Having said that, this morning Leila decided that 4.50am was a perfectly good time for breakfast, thankyou very much, Mummy. So I guess all we can do is go with it. They’ll be tiny for such a short time.

  4. 4 Min April 15, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Yes, Jacob decided to do a long stretch yesterday evening which gave daddy and me a welcome chance to have dinner together (although I can’t say the conversation was up to much..) but then decided from 2.30am onwards that sleep was for losers. Cue not so much a nights co-sleeping as co wriggling and grunting. So much noise for someone so tiny!


Leave a Reply

