Odds and sods

Well, apparently being with child does not excuse you from having to work really bloody hard. Which is to say, that’s where I have been these last few weeks (again! Am sorry! Bad blog monkey!). Phew, it’s been intense. Though I don’t actually have to go out filming these days- which is great, taking into account the darkening, chilling days and wintry rain- I do have to sit in the office with the phone glued to my ear and my fingers typing themselves down to bloody stumps, setting up other people’s filming and trying not to tear my hair from its follicles. Same old stress, same old Sausage Factory.

However, being with child does mean you get banished from the office when swine flu strikes . When it comes to flu season, my office is effectively a huge open plan cesspit housing more than 60 people. We all share equipment- not to mention air- bounce from desk to desk, leave our germy handprints on the kettle, door handles etc. The air is given a good stir by a number of large a/c vents, which allow for the fact that there are no windows which open.  So it was hardly surprising when people started dropping like flies in the last few days, peaking yesterday.  Only one is a confirmed swine; a couple of others seemed pretty ropey (and I’m annoyed with them for coming to work. Swine Flu Matyrs can go straight to Room 101, by decree of me and The Bean); others I’m sure were over-egging their colds or suffering from an acute case of Mondayitis.

“You shouldn’t be here!” yelped one caring colleague with panic in her eyes, and before I knew it I was being bundled homewards by my boss. I felt special for about an hour, until an e-mail came round telling everyone to leave, and work from home until further notice.

So now I get to work in my slippers and stretchy trousers for the foreseeable future. Which is very nice actually. I’ve surprised myself today by getting an awful lot done, and not switching on the gogglebox once. My Facebook uptake has in fact been lower than normal, and I’ve certainly spent less time gossiping- none at all, in fact. I’m wondering if it might perhaps be essential for me to work from home until I start my mat leave in 2 months time….

*********************************************************************************************************

In other news, all is well Bean-wise, and not much else is happening in my life, other than growing a new human. She’s very active in there, and there’s nothing so delicious as feeling her kicks and prods, which range from squirmy sensations to full on belly-shakers. It’s also fascinating when she muscles her way to the front of my bump (which is now, to my relief, decidedly A Bump), and we can feel with our fingers little knobbly bits which must either be a head or a bum. Oh, the indignity of being a fetus…

*********************************************************************************************************

It’s my sister’s birthday today- the sixth one since she died. She would have been 22, and that’s something I can’t even begin to get my head around. I’ve been feeling OK all day and have decided to go with this feeling, and not succumb to guilt or force myself into a grief-hole. Strange how I never can tell how I’m going to feel on these “special” days- anniversaries, birthdays and so on.  The bottom line is, I wish she was here every day, not just on her birthday.

0 Responses to “Odds and sods”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

