Yes, sir…

13 weeks

13 weeks

…that’s my baby!

G and I are very excited and happy to introduce The Bean! S/he’s been cooking for over 13 weeks now, and should be done by 29th Jan.

How’s that for a “new direction”, huh? How’s that for a relaunch? How could I possibly write any blog posts before I reached the magical second trimester, without talking about the thing that’s on my mind 24/7?

I am delighted. Delighted. And being the cautious, slightly doomish creature that I am, it is rare for me to be purely happy about something. But despite the rather immense prospect of raising a human child (“who let us have a baby?!” we ask each other regularly), not to mention birthing it, I’m not scared or anxious or trepidatious about that side of things. My only worry is for The Bean’s safety and health. And though one is never out of the woods, so to speak, when it comes to a successful pregnancy,  I’m beyond relieved to get past the three month mark.

The first trimester was Not Magical. After the initial elation, weeks and weeks of anxiety, panic and a couple of scary hospital trips ground by in almost backwards motion. The isolation of feeling constantly bilious, exhausted and overwhelmed without being able to tell anyone, is quite difficult to deal with actually. Nobody tells you this. It’s a conspiracy (it IS! I’ll elaborate in time).

But oh, ho. The second trimester (officially Magical) has been nothing but squeeing and smiling thus far- well, plus a monster migraine and a UTI, but never mind.  I went to the hospital for our 12 week scan (which turned out to be a 13 week scan- thanks, baby!) last Friday, utterly convinced that it would be bad news . But once we had seen The Bean executing a dazzling array of kicking, waving, leg-crossing, womb-bouncing, rolling over and adorable face-clasping skills, I dared to hope and believe that all would be OK.

Then commenced one of the best tasks we’ve ever had: phoning friends and family to tell them the news.  And although billions of babies have been born before, and our news is being repeated in the words of millions of years,  although The Bean is so tiny (6.9cm from crown to rump, with a pair of long spindly legs on top) and isn’t even half baked, it has the ability to generate such unbridled joy, such shrieking and cheering and happy tears, that I’m sort of in awe of it.

There will be more- much, much more.  But for now, all filled up with love, this happy pregnut will sign off.

6 Responses to “Yes, sir…”


  1. 1 Leah July 27, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I am so so so thrilled for you and G. I just wish I wasn’t on this side of the Atlantic so I could give you a hug and make you a cup of decaf tea!!!!!!!

  2. 2 welshpurpletree July 28, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Congratulations! How exciting. I hope the rest of your pregnancy is trouble and stress free. I totally know what you mean by feeling exhausted and nauseous for weeks and weeks and not being able to tell anyone why, it’s a real relief once you have your 12 week scan and it’s proven that there really is something alive and kicking in there.

  3. 3 mwdebbie July 28, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    so now everyone know where you’ve bean! it is happy happy news xxx
    ps some people will do anything to get out of Brit Mil Fit in the rain and cold

  4. 5 bokker July 30, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Aw thanks chaps!

  5. 6 daddyG August 4, 2009 at 7:47 am

    :))))))))))))))))))


Leave a Reply

