Self Pity

Latest headline from the Bleedin’ Obvious Gazette: being ill makes you feel like crap.

There’s the physical discomfort: my head is filled with stones, my joints have rusted over, and I think my plumbing has post traumatic stress. But illness always gives me a serious case of the emotional blahs (or rather, bleeeurghaaaarghs) too.

Maybe it’s the lack of fresh air; maybe it’s the inane hours of tv-watching and internet surfing; maybe it’s the feeling of helplessness- yesterday I sorted out my underwear drawer and cried with exhaustion afterwards. Or maybe it’s just my melancholy nature. But I’ve found myself feeling not just poorly but downright glum.

I’ve been obsessing over life’s worries and dilemmas, whirling the smallest exchange of words into a tangled mess of meaning in my head. I’ve cried a lot over my sister- and I confess, over my own loss because IT’S NOT FAIR (stamps foot feebly). I’ve stewed over the filming I did last weekend and convinced myself it was dire, and that I’ll be summoned to my producer’s desk and sacked on Monday.

In short, I’m going slightly insane.

Tell me a joke! Suggest something cheering for me to do (oh, I don’t know, like have a wash?)! Give me a funny link to peruse!

Or just ignore me and make me feel WORSE (sob)

5 Responses to “Self Pity”


  1. 1 Thursday February 28, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I’ll have a think about suggestions although I confess I’m feeling a bit out of sorts and headfulofstuffwhirlingroundmyheadandwhatamIgoingtodo myself.

  2. 2 Thursday March 2, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I’ve thought about something cheery to do – drink champagne. You know it makes sense.

  3. 3 pei March 3, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Poor bei – here’s something to cheer you up. It never, and I mean NEVER, fails to make me guffaw, in a really mean spirited way.

    Guffaw!

    Plus if you move to Cornwall one day I can come and see you and we’ll spend all day every day feeding big plastic balls to a rather greedy young lady named Bertha.

    pei xxxxx

  4. 4 bokker March 4, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Only 200 pounds?! Feed me more!

  5. 5 bokker March 4, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    And oh my god yes. That clip has got to be one of the best ever! I love that split second of realisation before she falls.


Leave a Reply

