Schmedit Shmunch

The news is… there’s more bad news. As a member of Her Majesty’s press I can confirm that the phrases “as the credit crunch starts to bite” and “in these dark times” are even more infernal when you have to write/say them for a job, and should be banned forthwith.

So, in the spirit of thumbing my nose at the unremitting gloom, here’s a list of five things I am loving at the moment:

My new role at work: same department, different programme. Proper current affairs like- woo scary. But I like a challenge, and at least for today I’m basking in the glory of making stuff happen… tomorrow will no doubt find me tearing my hair out.

Benefit box-o-powders. I bloody love these and am hankering after having a neat little stack of them in all the different colours. They make me look healthy! At the moment I’m sporting Throbb and Dallas- so according to the logic of the Benefit bumph, I ought to be looking like a constantly aroused cowgirl. Yee-ha!

I-pod randomness. There I go, striding purposefully down the corridor with my serious big girl’s coat on. What would they say if they could hear my soundtrack: No Lettin’ Go by Wayne Wonder? And here I am again standing at the bus stop, as blades of ice fall from the sky and shatter on to my head. But why am I smiling? Because in my world it’s Summertime, courtesy of Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince.

New Year Sanctimony. I am so on the wagon: I’ve been trilling about how energising and invigorating exercise is, eschewing mid-week alcohol (er, have only done two days of this so far but still), and eating nothing but leaves for lunch. Find me in February, when I’ll be face first in a black forest gateau with my pants on my head and an empty bottle of gin in one hand, singstar mic in the other.

Our new repertoire. Perhaps you don’t know, but I’m a member of a singing chorus. This week’s rehearsal was thrilling: not only did we start learning “Sign Your Name” by Terence Trent D’Arby (which is clearly a fabulous thing- though will have to suppress childish sniggers when we sing “slowly we make loove”) , but we also got to stand in “musical crowd scene” formation and bellow “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Mis, whilst pretending we were actually in a musical, performing to our “audience” (a picture on the wall) and gazing dramatically at each other.

So tell me: what’s brightening your world?

4 Responses to “Schmedit Shmunch”


  1. 1 Thursday January 15, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I love Benefit – the packaging of their powders and paints screams vintage and boudoir.
    My beaded and sequinned dress is brightening my world at the moment – I’m off to a party on Saturday with a 1920’s theme so it fits the bill rather well, particularly with a feathery plume in my hair and a feather boa.
    I love the radio I got for Christmas – I hadn’t realised how much I’d missed listening to the radio.

  2. 2 welshpurpletree January 15, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I love listening to my iPod on random, I’ve got such a huge mix of stuff on it, one minute Take That, then Abba, then Foo Fighters, then Rolf Harris. Fab!

  3. 3 mwdebbie January 16, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    One of the people I love most of all, in all the world, telling me this morning, ‘I’ve got so much fun planned for this weekend!’

  4. 4 R.G. Ryan January 26, 2009 at 6:00 am

    “Find me in February, when I’ll be face first in a black forest gateau with my pants on my head and an empty bottle of gin in one hand, singstar mic in the other.”

    I’m thinking…YouTube. 🙂


Leave a Reply

