Today, it really is all about me

So, yes, it’s my birthday.

I think I like 28. It’s a good age. You’re well beyond the panic of “ah mah gah, I’m 25! Like, slippery slope to 30! No longer a yoof!”, and you’re definitely a proper grown up rather than a twadult. And yet! It’s like a gift in itself: two whole years more til thirty. That’s ages.  

Not that there’s anything wrong with 30, of course. It’s just a bit scary.

I have been/will be celebrating my big day in a suitable grown-up fashion: with cocktails and a country cottage minibreak and, last Sunday, a rather fabulous tea party. Because I’m a laydee, who does laydees things.

(PS: Just by my right shoulder is my favourite picture ever, of me and my sister hugging. You can’t see her face or mine properly, but it says so much about how much I loved that girl and still do).

4 Responses to “Today, it really is all about me”


  1. 1 Thursday October 2, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Oh happy birthday laydee. Oh, to be 28. I just wish I had my 28 year old complexion. You realise it won’t be THAT long before you start buying Good Housekeeping magazine, don’t you. Oh yes, I know, I know these things.

  2. 2 Tammy October 3, 2008 at 12:19 am

    Happy Birthday.
    I am glad that you found me and then I found you. If I could go back to my 28 year old self and say anything it would be, “It does get better. Oh, and that eye cream you keep avoiding? It’s a really good idea to start using it before you need it.”
    A proper cup of tea and goodies are a wonderful way to spend your birthday. Thanks for reminding me to call my sister.
    Tammy

  3. 3 Min October 3, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Happy Birthday!

    Beginning to be lost in the mists of time now for me but 28 Definitely Rocks. Off to buy Good Housekeeping now (oh, and Gardeners World but sadly without that Titmarsh magic)

  4. 4 welshpurpletree October 3, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Happy Birthday! I’ll be 28 in a couple of months, I know what you mean about telling yourself it’s still another two years until 30 – ages!


Leave a Reply

